Exploding Egg

New Digs With a New Mexico Name

Well, so long as everything is approved, my new address in Portland will be 3333 SE Cesar E. Chavez Blvd. That’s a very New Mexico sounding street name for Oregon, which should make it easier to remember. Although 39th street, which it’s also called, isn’t exactly hard to remember.

Today throngs of inspectors passed through my Albuquerque house — opening windows, running all the appliances and at one point removing and reinstalling my toilet. The new owner and her mom also came by, and they seem like good people.

Of course the cats weren’t all that happy about yet another intrusion into their lives. They hid under the furniture during the chaos, keeping out of sight. But I know their little secrets, so I thought I’d share their hiding places with you:

Zoo under the bed

Tao under a chair

The inspectors found a few little things to fix up, but fortunately nothing big or involved. One more visit from the handyman and a visit from the appraiser and I should be all done with people tromping through my living room.

Then all I have to do is move. Eeek.

I’m actually a lot calmer than I thought I’d be as the move gets closer. Although I have been oscillating between what is probably denial, panic and an eagerness to get on with it. This will be a good thing. And it’s only a few weeks away.

That’s what I keep telling myself.

The plan is to get the U-haul all packed up on April 23rd and then to hit the road. Hopefully we’ll make it all in one piece.

Then my new life can begin.

Cheers,
-SueVo

April 6, 2010 - Posted by | Hopes and Realities

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

