Exploding Egg

An Evening Twitterfest With Criminal Minds

Yesterday I wrote about how cool it was that the cast of Criminal Minds seems to be going on a Twitter bender. But watching Thomas Gibson, who plays Hotch, and Paget Brewster, who plays Prentiss, chit chat on there while filming a scene for the season finale last night was even cooler.

Five cast members now have active Twitter accounts. Here they are if you want to follow them:

Paget Brewster: pagetpaget
Thomas Gibson: gibsonthomas
Matthew Gray Gubler: GUBLERNATION
Kirsten Vangsness: Vangsness
Joe Mantegna: joemantegna

Apparently Brewster got to a dark, scary field before everybody else did. Here’s what she said on Twitter over the span of a couple hours (around 9-11 p.m. PST):

A picture uploaded by Gibson of Brewster and himself

Creepy! I’m early to the next base camp in a deserted wildlife park in Van Nuys! Just me and my trailer and a guard. I think he’s a guard…

Tweeting is awesome! Now if I’m murdered in a park, you guys will know! Comforting. And yes, I’m in my locked trailer. With a rubber glock.

Does this mean-probability wise- that someone will tweet their last words before or during their own murder? Instead of calling 911?

AHa! My make up man is here and he’s a sexy brute! And a sharpshooter for real. Safe. Thanks for twittering me through that, people..

Hotch is here now. Scene takes place in a citywide blackout, finalé, hence abandoned park. Remember when you watch y’all calmed my fears!

If you look at her Twitter site, you can tell her fans were talking to her during the whole thing.

Gibson, who joined in at the end, tossed back a quick comment when he got there:

I’m in a trailer next to Paget, but I have no rubber glock, noteworthy even a rubber duck…

I imagine he meant to say “not even a rubber duck.”

An image Gibson posted of 'The Hotch and the Goob'

If you look at Gibson’s page though, you can see he was talking to fans last night between cuts — answering questions and saying hello to people. What a sweet guy.

Here’s a couple of the back-and-forth comments with him:

ActingGurl: Ok Gibson…I’m going to cry if I don’t get a hello 🙂 And I mean real BIG girl tears! Not gonna be pretty!

gibsonthomas: hellllllloooo! Please don’t cry!

scarletwalkerr: did you personally do any of the fighting in #100 and if so how much did you do and how much did the stunt double do?

gibsonthomas: C. Thomas Howell and I did most of it, but when we went tumbling down the stairs, that was professional stair falling dudes

cindyparks21: how many days left until you finished with season 5

gibsonthomas: 4/30

SO_natani: Seeing u tweet back everyone (but me) makes me want 2 restart my twitter experiment-How Many Tweets Get A Reply. Score: 5-0 🙂

gibsonthomas: not sure if this kills your experiment or not but hello!

PaigeOgilvie: Orrr. maybe for my 16th birthday, I could get a “Happy 16th” from @GibsonThomas or EVEN BETTER @PagetPaget ….THAT is wishful thinking D:

gibsonthomas: happy 16th Paige!

PaigeOgilvie (to her friend): AHHH HE WISHED ME A HAPPY SIXTEENTH BIRTHDAY!!!

marybvasquez: I think you’re an incredible artist and I’m glad you’re on Twitter. Dude, are you left handed?

gibsonthomas: mostly left handed, but a little confused. Eat, write, shoot pool, and play tennis lefty. Throw, kick, play golf righty….

Gibson also has been posting pictures, including this one, with the comment: “For anyone worried that we have no chairs, see we do, and lots of fun toys to play with too!”

A Twitter picture about chairs from Thomas Gibson

What a fascinating thing to watch develop over an evening. Very cool of the Criminal Minds cast to share a tiny bit of their lives with all of us.

You go, guys!
-SueVo

Update: There’s even more good news for Gibson and Mantegna fans. Check out my latest post here: Criminal Minds: More Twitter and Chat

Update: A.J. Cook has joined in the fun. See my latest post here: Criminal Minds: A.J. Cook Joins The Twitter Party

April 22, 2010 - Posted by | Criminal Minds | , , , , ,

31 Comments »

  1. Oh that’s very cool…now if we could just get the cast of Miami Medical to do that when they’re filming next…

    Comment by henrysmummy2003 | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. Wouldn’t that be great?

    Comment by SueVo | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  3. I’m @PaigeOgilvie’s friend that she tweeted. She hasn’t let me forget about it since. I could really do with one now to shhhhh her up!!!

    Comment by BonesBird | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  4. annnnnnd more to the point. Paige’s birthday isn’t until June. I got really confused.

    Comment by BonesBird | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  5. Lol guess it was an early birthday present then, eh?

    Comment by SueVo | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  6. Tell them that they’ll get more followers if they verify their profiles.

    Comment by nick gill | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  7. Must have been. I’m gonna get it framed and send it to her for her birthday present LOL

    Comment by BonesBird | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  8. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by explodingegg: An Evening Twitterfest With Criminal Minds: http://wp.me/pS4MF-8S

    Trackback by uberVU - social comments | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  9. I do wish I was ALERTED before I appeared here. But yeah. The awesomeness that is TG, wished me a happy birthday!

    Comment by Paige Ogilvie | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  10. Ok I have to be stupid here for a minute – how to you tweet TO someone?

    Comment by roedear | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  11. Very cool of him – and happy birthday to you in June 🙂

    Comment by SueVo | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  12. You type @ before their tag, like @PagetPaget and then your message, roedaer.

    Comment by SueVo | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  13. Thanks dudes. It was a great Early-bday thing.

    Comment by Paige Ogilvie | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  14. lol I’m officially a crazy fan now…

    Sent Thomas a twitter: Hi Thomas! You’re already the best, but you’d be 1,000 times best-er if you said hi to me! You’d even beat Gubler!

    And he responded, yay: Ok, if you put it THAT way….helllllooooooo!

    Comment by SueVo | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  15. How very cool!! Wished I had been there!

    Comment by JustAnAngel4U | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  16. […] An Evening Twitterfest With Criminal Minds Yesterday I wrote about how cool it was that the cast of Criminal Minds seems to be going on a Twitter bender. But […] […]

    Pingback by Top Posts — WordPress.com | April 22, 2010 | Reply

  17. oh – thanks everyone…how cool….when actors do this, it really does put a friendly real person in real time for us to know – if only for a brief time….

    Comment by Vera | April 23, 2010 | Reply

  18. Mann! Brewster is so hot! Her husband or boyfriend has to know that he has access to one of the hottest women on television right. I love her and she does not look her age. I all I can say is wow because I will never get to meet her anyway! Its just good to be able to share how I feel. So Brewster if you see this, I am not a stalker, just admire you. Thanks for being so beautiful and sexy at the same time. AJ does not have nothing on you baby.

    Comment by Tee | April 23, 2010 | Reply

  19. I love this show its mind blowing it.. I just gt engaged n hav to make sure me n others r recording it on r dvr. Otherwise I they hav to go to vegas wthout me..lol Reid is soooooo sexy Aaron mmmmm…love u Garcia Derek damn! Nuff said.

    Comment by Sandra Dee | April 25, 2010 | Reply

  20. […] Twitter Brings Out More Cast Chemistry So it’s been about a week since I first noticed the Twitter-fest going on amongst the cast of Criminal Minds — and watching them interact with each other remains both fun and […]

    Pingback by Criminal Minds: Twitter Brings Out More Cast Chemistry « Exploding Egg | April 29, 2010 | Reply

  21. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS SHOW. RECENT WATCHER AND I SPEND HALF MY DAYS WATCHING THE OLD TAPED ONES. WHY DID MANDY PATINKIN LEAVE. LOVED HIS SO MUCH. HAVE JUST ORDERED A FEW OF HIS CD’s…..LOVE ALL THE CAST.

    Comment by JANIE LAY | May 2, 2010 | Reply

  22. My two fav’s are Morgan and Hotch. Both are gorgeous.

    Comment by Linda Donohue | May 4, 2010 | Reply

  23. Let’s not forget “Penelope” – she is AWESOME!

    Comment by Karen | May 7, 2010 | Reply

  24. Never “twittered” before, but if it’s good enough for the cast of my FAVORITE television show – it’s high time I get with it! (and to think my oldest daughter says that I am technologically challenged) hhhmmmppphhh. LOVE CRIMINAL MINDS – LOVE IT!!!!!

    Comment by Karen | May 7, 2010 | Reply

  25. Hi Karen,
    Yeah I’m not much of a Twitter gal, but it was just so cool to see them all talking on there, I found myself spending more time looking at the site. I love the show, too! Thanks for the comments 🙂

    Comment by SueVo | May 7, 2010 | Reply

  26. […] a very fun experience following five members of the Criminal Minds cast on Twitter, I’d love to see the same thing happen with these […]

    Pingback by Miami Medical: A Cast-Inspired Drinking Game « Exploding Egg | May 7, 2010 | Reply

  27. I love all the characters on criminal minds. I have followed it from the very beginning. In fact, all repeats on our dish are programed for each show. My granddaughter has even begun watching it. It is the best on tv

    Comment by joanne woods | May 7, 2010 | Reply

  28. […] An Evening Twitterfest With Criminal Minds […]

    Pingback by Criminal Minds: A Creepy Touch of Tim Curry to End the Season « Exploding Egg | May 25, 2010 | Reply

  29. I love the movie Criminal minds. It’s great, my dad loves it too.

    Comment by Thuy Vy | June 11, 2010 | Reply

  30. I love the show

    Comment by Dan Mihaliak | June 18, 2010 | Reply

  31. […] wrote more than a little bit about their Twitter fest on this blog when some of the cast first started popping up on the service last spring. And since […]

    Pingback by Criminal Minds Twitter-fest puts Charlie Sheen melt-down in perspective « Exploding Egg | March 6, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

