Exploding Egg

Burgerville: Beefy Goodness

Today I’m waiting for an appointment to finish up the sale of my Albuquerque house so that I can get on with the rest of my life.

While waiting, I took a stroll down to the mecca of all Portland burger chains: Burgerville.

My local Burgerville, amidst green things that I think are referred to as 'trees'

The restaurants, which populate Oregon and Washington, are fast food but also very local, almost good-for-you fast food.

The burger I had today was 100 percent Oregon vegetarian-fed and antibiotic-free beef. The bun was lightly toasty on the inside. The veggies fresh without a hint of the typical McDonalds wilt.

Yum

This place is all about sustainable, local food, which you can easily tell from the taste.

Beyond that, Burgerville is also into recycling and generally keeping as much evil as possible at bay:

This is not something you'd generally see when leaving a restaurant in New Mexico

But don’t worry, there’s plenty of evil to be had down the street. Rumor has it Portland has the most strip clubs per capita of any American city.

You can even have beef with your strip club:

Hot girls and steak, eh?

For my part, though, I think I’ll stick with Burgerville.

Cheers,
-SueVo

April 29, 2010 - Posted by | Portland | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I think you’ve nailed one piece of the soul of Portland.

    Comment by Mr. Green Jeans | April 29, 2010 | Reply

  2. They do make an awfully good burger.

    Comment by SueVo | April 29, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

