Exploding Egg

Miami Medical: Man on the Road Runs Away With It

There were lots of great scenes in the latest episode of Miami Medical, Man on the Road, but after watching Jeremy Northam and Kari Matchett go at each other in a feisty flirtatious way — well, lets just say they ran away with it (pun intended).

Northam, who plays Doctor Matt Proctor, and Matchett, who plays heart surgeon Doctor Helena Sable get the perfect pre-introduction to each other via Doctor Eva Zambrano (played by Lana Parrilla). Zambrano interrupts Proctor’s morning jog to bring him a mysterious package and ask him about the status of Nurse Tuck Brody (played by Omar Gooding) — who was stabbed in the heart in the Calle Cubana episode.

Northam gets both a physical and comedic workout in Man on the Road

Proctor tells her he plans to check in with Sable, Brody’s heart surgeon, and asks Zambrano about her.

“She’s the best. And a piece of work,” Zambrano says. “You know how people sometimes consider you quirky?”

This gets a subtle surprised look from Proctor.

“People consider me quirky?” he says.

Proctor? Quirky? Just because he likes to fly paper airplanes during work hours doesn't mean he's quirky.

Zambrano, not fooled by the ruse that he lacks self-knowledge, adds “she’ll give you a run for your money.”

After this we have two emerging story lines of a plane crash in the everglades, which young doctor Serena Warren (played by Elisabeth Harnois) has to deal with, and an early-onset Alzheimer’s patient with a do not resuscitate order tattooed to his chest.

If I had Alzheimer's, I'd be right there with this guy, excellently played by British actor James Frain

Proctor and Doctor Chris Deleo (played by Mike Vogel), have to decide what to do with the DNR patient, played by James Frain, since the man doesn’t always seem to know where he is.

When he first wakes up, after his motorcycle accident, he thinks he’s a 11-year-old who just fell out of a tree.

'Don't tell my mom,' Frain's Alzheimer patient, who thinks he's 11, says.

After pondering this mystery, Proctor heads on upstairs to meet Sable, and the fun begins in earnest.

He walks in to find her speaking to a room full of students and interrupts her. And the dialogue and chemistry between the two of them is just wonderful.

“So, you’re the new guy I’ve heard so much about, the Brit?” Sable asks.

Sable sizes Proctor up

“New-ish,” Proctor says. “And I just speak this way because Americans find it appealing.”

(Yes we do, thinks one recovering journalist.)

He then asks to scrub in on Brody’s surgery, which gets a smug and solid no from Sable.

The complex surgery “is probably a little much to wrap your head around,” she tells Proctor.

“I could walk you through the difference between mechanical valves and tissue valves, but then I’m not a performing seal,” Proctor responds.

“Is that your rule? Because my rule is no one scrubs in on my surgeries,” Sable says. “You’re welcome in the room, but you’re not to touch the body.”

Proctor gets a little flirty after a challenge by Sable

“So, I can look but not touch?” Proctor says with a flirtatious smile.

“I was just making sure you’re not the egomaniac I’m often accused of being,” she says.

Walking out, she adds “Welcome aboard, Matthew.”

You just have to love seeing these two work together

This gets a frown from Proctor, who says “Nobody calls me Matthew.”

Matthew, huh? I'll give you Matthew...

Proctor then goes back to dealing with Frain’s character, Brian, who after having his lung removed decides — in a moment of lucidity — to go off the vent and die.

And Warren seems to feel some redemption from saving the patient that stabbed Brody when she finds and saves a young boy after the plane crash.

The scene as the two of these things happen is brilliant. With Frain’s character slowly running out of breath and dying as Warren attends to the young boy and restores his breathing.

Frain takes a few last gasps of air

Warren helps the child breathe

This scene plays well into Proctor’s internal dilemma of the episode. The mysterious package that Zambrano gave him has a note that says “Happy Birthday” on it, stuck to what look like old medical charts.

The package flashes him back to his heart attack of two years ago, when he collapsed in the snow during a jog after shooing a curious dog away.

Snowy Maryland, not the ideal place to have a heart attack

The Happy Birthday note, which Zambrano noticed, spreads rumors far and wide across the hospital, ending up with Sable, who congratulates him.

“Where did you hear that?” Proctor asks her.

“Oh, I’m like the CIA meets the KGB meets the grandmother who always knew what you were up to,” Sable tells him.

After a bemused smile, Proctor shoots back. “You got your undergrad at Berkley, your medical degree at Penn. You pretend not to know how to play pool until there’s money on the table and you’re a sucker for caviar,” he tells her, sauntering off into surgery. “My grandmother was the last to know.”

Please keep putting these two together - they steal the show.

In one of the last scenes, Sable comes to update Proctor on Brody’s status, and she finds him a bit contemplative after looking at the mystery package once again.

“How much of being alive is wanting to be alive?” he asks her. “Because I know some miserable people who’s hearts just keep beating.”

Later, when the gang is together at the bar, Proctor reveals the rest of the jogging story — in which he was saved by the dog who he had earlier shooed away.

“So this isn’t your birthday,” Zambrano says.

“No. It’s my re-birthday. I’m two,” Proctor says.

Warren then asks him who sent him the package, which gets the typical Proctor stonewall and a shush finger over his lips.

Proctor, still tight-lipped, even after a few secrets slip out.

Proctors comments and him saying that he hasn’t often wanted to remember his past lead me to believe there’s more story line coming about the sender of the package and perhaps some deep dark secrets in his prior life.

In the meantime, we’ll just have to wait and hope the show gets renewed. We should know for sure early next week — so lets keep our fingers crossed.

Here’s the preview of the season finale, An Arm And A Leg, which airs this coming Friday:

Cheers,
-SueVo

Update: Gill over at The Jer Blog has a great post up about this episode, too. Check it out here: Miami Medical, Man on the Road: yes, itโ€™s good to be aliveโ€ฆ

May 15, 2010 - Posted by | Miami Medical | , , , , , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. Really great post Sue! Agree with you abiut the wordplay between Proctor and Sable, I really enjoyed it too.

    Comment by henrysmummy2003 | May 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. This is great Sue! Agree with you about Proctor and Sable, I really enjoyed that too.

    Comment by henrysmummy2003 | May 15, 2010 | Reply

  3. Sorry, it told me it hadn’t allowed the first comment!

    Comment by henrysmummy2003 | May 15, 2010 | Reply

  4. Thanks Gill ๐Ÿ™‚
    I see three comments now, lol.

    Comment by SueVo | May 15, 2010 | Reply

  5. […] Next week is the season finale, An Arm and a Leg. Watch this space for more on that very soon. And while you’re waiting, check out SueVo’s review at The Exploding Egg. […]

    Pingback by Miami Medical, Man on the Road: yes, it’s good to be alive… « The Jer Blog, all about Jeremy Northam | May 15, 2010 | Reply

  6. I thought this was an excellent episode. The acting was really great and the writing a notch or two better than we’ve seen. I thought the whole flirtation between Proctor and the heart surgeon was a bit weak actually. Don’t hate me but I thought he had better chemistry with the bike crash victim’s sister. I didn’t really care much for the actress or her character of the heart surgeon. Of course she’s just been introduced, so maybe we’ll have to give it some time. Jeremy was lovely though, especially in the scene when they were scrubbing up. And yay we get to see him jogging shorts.

    Comment by Jenny the Nipper | May 15, 2010 | Reply

    • It’s interesting that you mentioned the chemistry between Proctor and the crash victim’s sister. I felt a similar thing when I saw the scene with the two of them.

      Comment by Glaros | May 15, 2010 | Reply

  7. Lol no I don’t hate you Jenny — that’s why they’re opinions. We don’t have to agree. It’s all good.
    I did think he had good chemistry with Frain and the gal that played his sister. But I just love the kind of banter he had with Matchett.
    Thanks for the comment ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by SueVo | May 15, 2010 | Reply

  8. Thank you for writing down part of the dialogue, Sue! Since English is not my mother tongue, there are always things I don’t understand, and it helps to have the opportunity to read it.

    I did like the flirtatious fight between Proctor and Sable, but it was more due to Jeremy Northam’s charism than to the charms of Kari Matchett’s character. Of all female characters this iron lady is the one I like least. It made me cringe when she said to her subordinates in a commanding tone that she wanted them to leave the room. If this had been said by a male character in the same way, I would have cordially disliked him from this moment on.

    But I am prepared to give her a chance if Proctor is fond of her. I like the quirky doctor so much that I wish him everything that pleases him. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Comment by Glaros | May 15, 2010 | Reply

  9. Hi Glaros,
    I think the tough surface will break down and we’ll see some more quirkiness out of her – but that’s just my impression.
    I wasn’t put off by her at all. But yeah, Northam’s charm and charisma certainly helps in any scene.
    Thanks for reading! Glad you liked the dialogue ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Comment by SueVo | May 15, 2010 | Reply

  10. Hi everyone!
    Just want to agree with Glaros, really don’t like that woman. I guess she’s gonna be some type of arrogant feminists … but, I would not say a word against her, only if they will keep the show going. Anyway, I was looking forward to last weeks episode and I really enjoy it. It was great Jeremy and James together on stage again … Frains character was touching, I felt really sorry for him. Hope the next episode will be as great as this, because it’s maybe the last one we see …

    Only a little compliment, I like reading your reviews pretty much. It’s always a great summary and it always makes me smile, after all the negative comments I read anywhere else. Thanks for it!

    PS: Proctor is the best! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Comment by Zip | May 17, 2010 | Reply

  11. Thanks Zip!
    Glad you like the reviews. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I really hope this week isn’t our last episode. They filmed five more, so hopefully there will be some way we can see them if nothing else.
    But who knows, CBS could still decide to keep it. From what I’ve heard, we should have word on that today. I’ll have a post up as soon as I know anything. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by SueVo | May 17, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

